Mrs. Bloch

Mrs. Bloch has worked at Sunburst Schools since August of 2010.

1.  What is your current role(s) at Sunburst Schools?

My current role at Sunburst Schools is the 6th grade teacher. I teach 5th and 6th grade math, science, and social studies. I am proud to say that I have had many roles at Sunburst Schools. When I first arrived in 2010 there were no teaching positions so I subbed and then took on the secretary’s position. In 2011, I became the gifted and talented and Title 1 teacher for three years. In 2014, I became the 7th grade teacher and taught 7th and 8th science, Language arts, and social studies. When I took this position I also became the Jr. High science coach for science fair and science olympiad. I moved away for a year. When I returned I taught 3rd and 4th grade math, science, and social studies, for 4 years. Next year begins my 20th year of teaching.

3.  Give us a brief history to include where you are from, where you were born, where you graduated from high school, and where graduated from college?

I started my teaching career in Georgia at Crews Middle school teaching 7th grade Life Science for 3 years.. I also taught 8th grade science one year and 6th and 7th grade gifted Language Arts one year. When I moved to Great Falls I took a long term sub position at North Middle School teaching 8th grade science and then finished the year at East Middle School teaching 7th grade science. I spent the next two years teaching 6th grade math, science, and reading  at Loy Elementary. While in Great Falls I was an assistant coach for CMR and Great Falls High Girls and Boys Swim Teams. When I left Sunburst for that one year, I moved to West Virginia and taught 8th grade science. My beginning years at Sunburst I coached Jr. High track and one year of High School track. 

3.  Give us a brief history to include where you are from, where you were born, where you graduated from high school, and where graduated from college?

I was born in Indianapolis, Indiana so I am officially a Hooiser. However, at 6 months old my parents moved back to Philadelphia and I was raised there until I was 24. I graduated from Upper Moreland High School and  I attended Temple University in downtown Philadelphia on a swimming scholarship. I graduated in 1985 with a degree in Exercise Physiology and Cardiac Rehab. I spent the next 20 years in medical sales until returning to school at Mercer University in Georgia to obtain my teaching degree and license. 

4.  Tell us about your family, spouse, or significant other.

I am married and have 4 children, 1 grandson, who is the apple of my eye, and 1 granddaughter on the way. My husband is a supervisor at the Port of Sweetgrass. 

5.  Do you have any pets?

I have two pomsky’s, Grizz and Loki. A pomsky is a pomeranian/husky. 

6.  What are some of your hobbies and interests?

I love to hike in Glacier National Park whenever I can. I love to kayak and go camping. I have always enjoyed skiing but two knee surgeries may have sidelined that, but I have recently bought snowshoes and have been enjoying that this winter. 

7.  Are there any other interesting tidbits you want to share about yourself?

When my husband and I retire, we want to spend 6 weeks exploring Alaska! I want to kayak with whales and watch Glaciers and chase the Aurora Borealis. We try to attend an Eagles game once a year.