Mrs. Nix headshot

Mrs. Nix

Mrs. Nix has worked at Sunburst Schools since August of 2008.

1.  What is your current role(s) at Sunburst Schools?

I am the 8-12 Science Teacher, the JH/HS Science Coach, and the JH Girls Basketball Assistant Coach.  I am also the Senior Class advisor and the Advisor for the upcoming ecology trip to Costa Rica.

2.  What previous teaching, coaching, or other extracurricular activities have you been involved with, if any, at previous schools and how many years of experience do you have?

This is my 19th year of teaching and my 15th year at Sunburst.  I started my teaching career teaching 7-12 science at J-I schools for one year (the last year it existed independently before combining with Chester to become CJI) and then spent 3 years, also in 7-12 science, in Turner, MT.  During those 19 years I’ve coached boys, girls, and co-ed junior high basketball, been head and assistant coaches for girls varsity basketball, assistant track coach, assistant softball coach, and unofficial assistant to the AD (an occupational hazard associated with being married to the AD). Outside of school I’ve also coached t-ball. I have been a science fair coach/mentor for all 19 years and have had the privilege of attending the International Science and Engineering Fair with students 14 times. I also coached Science Olympiad for 12 years, though we are not currently participating due to timing of the competition.

3.  Give us a brief history to include where you are from, where you were born, where you graduated from high school, and where graduated from college?

I was born in Pocatello, ID, but grew up in and around South Milwaukee, WI.  In high school my family moved to Montana, so I graduated a Wolf Point Wolf.  I attended college at the University of Mary in Bismarck, ND where I earned a BS - Biology. (Later I remotely attended MSU-Bozeman and MSU-Northern to obtain my teaching certifications and Masters of Education.) 

4.  Tell us about your family, spouse, or significant other.

I’m married to Jeff Nix (who you read about earlier this year!) and have two energetic preschoolers: Steven (who is REALLY excited to be in Kindergarten next year) and Skylar (who is pretty sure she should also be going to Kindergarten next year). Both kids spend so much time at the high school with mom and dad that they already think they own the place.

5.  Do you have any pets?

I used to have a beloved dog, but for now, we mostly have pet rocks.

6.  What are some of your hobbies and interests?

I used to be interesting, but since having kids, I don’t really know what hobbies are anymore!  No, not really, but the hobbies have changed.  I love visiting National Parks and hiking.  I love to read (but don’t get to do nearly enough of that.) And I love to travel to new places and try new foods.  I also enjoy cooking - that’s a new one. I used to really kick-butt at TV trivia, but now I mostly know PBS Kids and Disney Channel offerings. I used to do quite a bit of singing and musical theater and I would love to be able to participate in those hobbies again someday.

7.  Are there any other interesting tidbits you want to share about yourself?

Besides teaching I’ve been an assistant sports engineer for a radio station, a barista, a cocktail waitress, worked in clothing retail and at a pet store, been a CNA at a hospital and a birth assistant for a midwife (I’ve helped deliver about 15 babies), a zookeeper, and an interpretive park ranger for MT FWP. I’m still trying to decide what I want to be when I grow up, but that may need to wait for a bit as I watch my children grow.